Election 2022: Full slate of candidates running in Kincardine

Kincardine has a total of 19 candidates competing for the nine seats available on Council.

The official list of municipal election candidates for Kincardine has two councillors acclaimed to their positions. Beth Blackwell and Coun. Doug Kennedy, currently a councillor-at-large, are acclaimed to represent Ward 1. 

Vying for the Mayor’s seat are Kenneth Craig and current at-large Councillor Laura Haight.

Current Ward 1 Councillor Andrea Clarke, current Mayor Gerald Glover and Uli Hack are campaigning for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Ward 2 only has a single seat with three candidates running –  Carol Blake, Linda McKee, and current Ward 2 incumbent Councillor Bill Stewart. 

Ward 3 also has a single seat with Bill McKeeman and Amanda Steinhoff-Gray competing for the position.

When it comes to the three Councillor-at-large seats, there are seven candidates  competing – Rory Cavanagh, Jim David, Carla Glover, Jeff Hegmans, Mike Hinchberger, Jennifer Prenger and Scott Wilson.

Current Deputy Mayor Randy Roppel and councillors-at-large Dave Cuyler, Maureen Couture and Dorne Fitzsimmons are not seeking re-election.

Running for Bluewater District School Board (BWDSB) trustee is incumbent Jan Johnstone and Ray Richards, while incumbent Lori DiCastri, Allan Kempert, and Stellina Williams are seeking the Huron-Kinloss/Brockton Ward 31/Kincardine trustee position at Bruce Grey Catholic District School Board.

French public school board (Conseil scolaire Viamonde) trustee candidates are Eric Lapointe and Saveria Caruso, and French separate school board (Conseil scolaire catholique Providence) trustee candidates are Sylvie Barbeau-Chmielewski and Meghan Reale.

The 2022 municipal and school board elections will take place by telephone and internet between Oct. 17th at 9 a.m. and Oct. 24th at 8 p.m. Voters should check the voter’s list through the municipality to ensure they are on it.  

For more information, visit kincardine.ca\election