Fire ban covers all of Bruce County

At this time, all Fire Chiefs of Bruce County have enacted a full outdoor burning ban. This fire ban comes into effect as of April 3, 2020 at 4:00 pm. The fire ban will remain in effect until further notice.

The Fire Chiefs from all Bruce County Fire Stations are unified in the belief that a fire ban is warranted in this entire area. Following the province’s direction yesterday, the Fire Chiefs felt this was a preventative measure to limit firefighters’ potential of being exposed to the COVID-19 virus. This will also allow Bruce County Fire Departments to focus their efforts on responding to incidents that are more severe in nature or life threatening.

“Bruce County municipalities are currently in a state of emergency and therefore it is important that first responders remain available for other priority incidents,” said Bruce County Fire Coordinator and Saugeen Shores Fire Chief, Phil Eagleson.

The fire ban prohibits all outdoor burning including agricultural and recreational fires.