Saugeen First Nation re-elects Chief

In May, Saugeen First Nation (SFN) held its biennial Nomination meeting where they nominated Band members to stand as candidates for election.

Candidates had five days to decide whether or not they wanted their names to stand or be withdrawn. 

At the outset, there were 12 candidates for the position of Chief and 47 candidates for Council positions.

On Thursday, June 28th, the election was held and Lester Anoquot was elected Chief with a difference of only 74 votes from his closest rival, Sonya Roote.

Councilors elected are :
Conrad Ritchie – Head Councilor
Sonya Roote
Randal (Randy) Roote
Gayle mason-Stark
Herman Roote
Letitia Thompson
Lorne Mandawoub
Michael (Mike) Henry
Mark Mandawoub