2018 Saugeen Shores BRASS Awards

BRASS Award Recipients (L) Baby Boutique owner Jamie Taylor, Terry Chappell of Dale’s Carpentry, Kristen Watt of Kristen’s Pharmacy, Lifetime Achievement Award Carol and Walter Mackowski and Pier Donnini recipient of Mayor’s Community Service Award (absent is Dane Buttenaar of Backyard Boys Landscaping)

At a gala event on Saturday night (June 2/18), the Saugeen Shores Chamber of Commerce BRASS Awards were handed out to recognize those businesses and individuals nominated for their involvement and leadership in their community.

There were six categories: Business of the Year; Customer Service Excellence; Young Professional; Excellence in Skilled Trade; Lifetime Achievement and Mayor’s Community Service.

Business of the Year – ‘Baby Boutique’ Owner Jamie Taylor (L) accepts award from Chamber President, Kate Cammidge-Irwin

Mayor’s Community Service Award (L) Mayor Mike Smith and recipient Pier Donnini

The 2018 winners were:

Business of the Year: Baby Boutique of Port Elgin

Customer Service Excellence: Kristen’s Pharmacy of Southampton

Young Professional:  Dane Buttenaar of Backyard Boys Landscaping

Excellence in Skilled Trade:  Dale’s Carpentry

Lifetime Achievement:  Carol and Walter Mackowski retired owners of Vincent Jewelers of Southampton

Mayor’s Community Service Award:  Pier Donnini of the Queen’s Bar & Grill of Port Elgin

Gerry and Connie Moss

Jamie and Ryan Smith

Two couples, the Smiths and the Moss(es) were the big auction winners when they each bid on a trip to Ottawa. The trip offered by Huron-Bruce MP Ben Lobb includes a personal tour of Parliament, a luxury night’s stay at the Chateau Laurier, the Mayor’s farewell luncheon and a special dinner. The first auction win went to the Smiths and then auctioneer, Pat O’Connor, convinced Lobb to offer the same trip to a second couple and Gerry and Connie 
Moss will also find themselves going to Ottawa.              

There were three finalists in each category, with the exception of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Mayor’s Community Service Award.