Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson hosted 8th Annual Remarkable Citizens Awards at New Year’s Levee

Standing ovations, cheers, and tears of joy were shared last Wednesday night in Teeswater as 37 ‘Remarkable Citizens’ were recognized at Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson’s 8th annual New Year’s levee.
“I’ve always said that there is no better way to ring in the new year – and decade for that matter – than recognizing people who make a difference in our communities across Huron-Bruce,” Thompson said.
This year’s ‘winners’ include: Mikayla Ansley (Blyth), a legally blind young woman whose essay on Kindness won the International Lions Youth Peace Essay; Richard and Elaine Porter (Cargill), who have fostered more than 430 children over a span of 50 years; and Barry Ludwig (Teeswater), who has donated blood more than 250 times.
“Everyone’s achievements and volunteer work is truly remarkable. They make a difference, and they are all an inspiration,” Thompson added.
Others recognized were: Wes Larson (Kincardine), Jennifer Morin (Kincardine), Arthur McIntosh (Kincardine), Brenda Campbell (Seaforth), Brian & Gisele Ireland (Teeswater), Bruce MacDonald (Teeswater), George & Ruth Townsend (Seaforth), Gladys Van Egmond (Clinton), Gwen Devereaux (Seaforth), Helen Varekamp (Bayfield), Jane Smyth (Blyth), Joanne Caldecott (Brockton), John Elmslie (Bayfield), Jordan Jarvis (Kincardine), Karen Redmond (Auburn), Kaushik P. Patel (Clinton), Lyle Haney & Gwen Good (Seaforth), Marilyn Freer (Ripley), Mike Dixon (Bayfield), Nicole Mackechnie (Goderich/Bayfield), Patricia Lewington (Bayfield), Peggy Griffin Paetzold (Tiverton), Ron Alton (Lucknow), Ruth Alton (Lucknow), Sam & Heather Finnie (Ripley), Sharon Nivins (Lucknow), Steve Tiffin & Adam Ireland (Teeswater), and Zoellyn (Zoey) Onn (Brussels).
To date 175 Huron-Bruce residents have received the distinction of being recognized as ‘Remarkable Citizens”. Thompson also applauded those who make the nominations. “We couldn’t do this without their support.”