Bluewater School Board students and staff celebrated for excellence

At the final Regular Meeting of the Board for the 2021 – 2022 school year on June 21st, Bluewater District School Board (BWDSB) recognized students and staff who received provincial, national, and international awards this past year.

Recipients were celebrated for excellence in several categories, which ranged from science, mathematics, and French to athletics and the skilled trades, among others.

“On behalf of trustees, congratulations go out to this year’s award recipients who excelled provincially, nationally, and internationally in a wide spectrum of competitions,” said Chair Jane Thomson.  “The skill, dedication, and grit demonstrated by all is beyond amazing, and we are so proud of the fine examples they set for Bluewater and our local communities.  Accolades are also extended to those who directly supported these achievements through coaching, encouragement, chaperoning, and otherwise.”

“It has become a popular Bluewater tradition for us to recognize our provincial, national, and international award recipients at our last board meeting in June,” says Director of Education Lori Wilder.  “This year’s extensive list is as impressive and awe-inspiring as ever, and I congratulate all the recipients on their exceptional accomplishments and thank those in their support systems.  These honours represent only a small sampling of the many memorable success stories that occur year-round in our schools.”          

The provincial, national, and international award recipients for 2021 – 2022 are as follows:

Canada-Wide Science Fair – Virtual (Fredericton, New Brunswick)
Junior Division
Vedant Sheel (Saugeen District Senior School) – Silver Medal, Energy Challenge Award, Renewable Energy Award

Intermediate Division
Islay Graham (Owen Sound District Secondary School) – Bronze Medal

The Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing Contests (University of Waterloo)
Beaver Computing Challenge (Grade 7/8)
Adam Davis, Sarah Fehr, Mary Galley, Kaden Herrington, Alex Jacklin, Kaelynn O’Brien, and Malcolm Thornton (Saugeen District Senior School) – Certificate of Distinction

Beaver Computing Challenge (Grade 9/10)
Annabella Genner, Sophia Hepburn, Holly Johnston, and Eric Wattenburg (Peninsula Shores District School), Jenna Greig, Kathryn McLaren, and Ibrahim Shad (Saugeen District Senior School) – Certificate of Distinction