Bruce-Grey Catholic School Board elects new Chair

The new chairperson of the Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board is Lori DiCastri, trustee for Huron-Kinloss, Kincardine, Brockton Ward 31. Lori has served as trustee for the past nine years, and this is her first time acting as Chair of the Board.

Lori commented, “It is an honour to be elected as the new Chair of the board for BGCDSB. I would like to thank Bev Eckensweiler for her years of dedication to BGCDSB as Vice-Chair and Chair of the Board. I look forward to continuing to work with Trustees, Administration, Staff, OECTA, CUPE, APSSP and CPCO to serve our students and communities while keeping Catholic Education alive and well in Bruce

DiCastri was elected at the inaugural meeting on Monday, December 9, 2019.
Vice-chairperson is Norm Bethune, trustee for (Owen Sound, Meaford and The Blue Mountains).

     Lori DiCastri and Norm Bethune

Trustees serving alongside Lori and Norm are:
• Bev Eckensweiler (South Bruce)
• Robyn Garvey (West Grey, Hanover, Grey Highlands and Southgate)
• Mike Lemme (Saugeen Shores, Arran-Elderslie, Chatsworth, Georgian Bluffs, Northern Bruce
Peninsula, South Bruce Peninsula)
• Linda Strader (Brockton Ward 34 and 36)

The chairperson and vice-chairperson positions are elected annually.