Bruce County Council elects new Warden

On Thursday, December 1, 2022, the inaugural Council Meeting of the 2022-2026 Bruce County Council was held in the Council Chambers at the Walkerton Administration Centre.

Bruce County Councillors consisting of the locally-elected Mayors of the eight lower-tier municipalities in the County, were sworn into their new roles on Bruce County Council by Tammy Grove-McClement, Solicitor for the County of Bruce.

2022-2026 Bruce County Council:

  • Chris Peabody – Municipality of Brockton
  • Don Murray – Township of Huron-Kinloss
  • Garry Michi – Town of South Bruce Peninsula
  • Kenneth Craig – Municipality of Kincardine
  • Luke Charbonneau – Town of Saugeen Shores
  • Mark Goetz – Municipality of South Bruce
  • Milt McIver – Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
  • Steve Hamell – Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

In the inaugural meeting, Bruce County Council also elected Chris Peabody, Mayor of the Municipality of Brockton, as Bruce County’s Warden for the 2022-2023 term.

This is Mayor Chris Peabody’s first term as County Warden. Chris Peabody was elected to municipal council in the Municipality of Brockton in 2000, served five terms as Councillor, and was elected as Mayor in 2018 and was acclaimed as Mayor in 2022.

“It is an honour to carry the responsibilities of Warden for the upcoming year, and a privilege to continue serving the residents and businesses of Bruce County,” said Warden Chris Peabody. “County Council will work together to successfully continue and enhance the services, programs, and initiatives of this upper-tier municipality. We will strive to keep our region safe, protect our most vulnerable, and help our economy flourish. I look forward to delivering on our goals to provide community safety initiatives, affordable housing, quality infrastructure, and fiscal responsibility.”

The position of Warden is achieved through a vote of peers on County Council, who manage the affairs of the County’s shared community and resources. The Warden chairs Council meetings, represents Bruce County at official functions, acts as an official spokesperson, and much more.

“On behalf of Bruce County Staff, I wish to congratulate Mayor Chris Peabody on his election, and extend a warm welcome to the new 2022-2026 Council. I look forward to the year ahead as we continue to make infrastructure, public service, community planning, and economic growth a priority,” said Chief Administrative Officer Derrick Thomson.

Discover more about Bruce County Council